Posted on

Professional placement

Wes c.v.

so here is an updated version of my c.v. which I have made and intend to look for some work with I have already worked with clients this year so will see if they are still in need of someone to be a videographer at their events, as they said it was all good earlier in the year I just haven’t heard back from them.

Screen Shot 2014-05-28 at 12.11.19

started looking on ThisisPlymouth.co.uk but the majority of it is media sales or graphic design, found this website isn’t too bad although is a little intimidating the majority of places would prefer you to be experienced, but I guess I could try some “fake it til you make it”

http://www.filmandtvpro.com/uk/i/Jobs/Devon/Plymouth/

also probably looking into GodTV as it’s here, also South West Film

Screen Shot 2014-05-28 at 12.23.31

also had a go with twofour media hopefully the file name wasn’t confusing.
Screen Shot 2014-05-28 at 12.34.46

I just keep thinking about this….

so we have taken on the Tamar River Festival and I have been asked to come up with a concept for the project so I have been researching the river Tamar pretty solidly lately and trying to come up with something fitting. I am going to contact the company directly and ask what sort of direction they want to take the project. Which I did but with regards to the concept I was slightly overtaken by the group and it looks like we’re doing something else that is just mainly involving the river itself.

Screen Shot 2014-06-02 at 09.07.39

also on top of this I have started building a website with Wix a free online site builder, focusing more on stills at community events I have a lot of photos to go through but it’s shaping up nicely anyway…

Screen Shot 2014-06-07 at 09.49.27

So with regards to the River Project it was ok I know people had to pass the module so everyone sort of jumped on board, but there were far too many bodies and not really much going on, I sat in on the edit and helped choose shots and stabilise them etc, I am to understand that we pretty much need to redo the whole thing as they weren’t best pleased with it I think the idea was ok as far as it goes but maybe would have been better or at least a bit more professional if they had taken a tripod out to shoot!

so wanting to get as much on this module as I could I moved on as well to…

http://www.imwithgeek.com/

these guys seemed cool they were looking for a comic strip editor, so I applied thinking it was as a writer! I didn’t get the job for obvious reasons but they got back to me and asked if I would consider joining their staff of writers to which I said “ok would you like to see an example of my work”
Screen Shot 2014-07-11 at 10.24.11
I spoke to one Mr.John William who said they did and so I sent them over The Camera Never Lies a short spoken word piece that I had made for Lucy’s contextual module (you can watch it here if you haven’t already seen it.)

after this more e-mails were sent via Indeed.co.uk an online job application service I had just about familiarised myself with, but as the job has been taken down so has the correspondence, he asked that I show him some more work as I showed promise and their initial goal is to help young writers that other wise would go un-noticed in the industry. So I sent him the link to this blog and apologised profusely that it wasn’t anything other than a stream of vaguely academic consciousness and he never got back to me!

This being the case I have now set up a blog so I can write my own personal feels and thoughts without having any boundaries as such, so therefore this won’t be happening again!

it’s currently untouched but I will be getting on with it in the next few days…

on top of that I finished my negotiated final major production and plugged it about as much as I could trying to contact different drug awareness campaigns I approached LegalHighAwareness.co.uk who have decided to take the original edit as it is to schools and colleges next year to raise awareness about legal highs which was the original intention. On top of this I have been in correspondence with the Angelus Foundation

http://www.angelusfoundation.com/

They are a company who were set up by Mitch Weinhouse after Amy Weinhouses death some few years ago, they loved it and I am currently working on a 2 minute edit so they can try and make it into a viral campaign or some sort of thing like that I guess, I am literally just awaiting a call back today and then I’ll be getting on with it. I told them of my intentions for it and wanting it to spread awareness also the fact that me and a friend made the music and video there would be no problems with copyright etc and they were more than happy to have it, it’s also currently 9th in some online award thing for video of the week which is nice so lots of positive stuff coming back from this. In the time since I started writing this I have been asked to make a 2 minute version for Angelus Films which will involve a ridiculous amount of exposure and such which is good, they are planning to take it around to festivals and schools etc…

Screen Shot 2014-07-11 at 11.47.07 Screen Shot 2014-07-11 at 11.47.22

 you can watch the full version here

on top of this I applied for a job at BBC southwest as a personal assistant to a broadcaster I am not entirely sure why I did this but I didn’t get the job anyway but they were interested and have told me they will be keeping my c.v. on file whether or not anything comes of this is a seperate issue.

Critical reflection.

Screen Shot 2014-07-11 at 17.11.00Screen Shot 2014-07-11 at 17.30.24

A lot of the clients that I have come to work with over the recent months have been entirely generated by me applying myself and getting down to it, e-mailing on the phone and via social networking platforms. I feel I have completely grown as an individual and my confidence has somewhat grown. Just through interacting and trying to  get myself out there I have made some strong connections and have some realistic goals that are achievable, I will be working with TEDx at the university which covers quite a large online platform with issues such as technology and social justice/injustice this is something I have wanted to be involved with and have talked about over the past two years, my work with the RIO will cover the community aspect of what I also wanted to achieve this means I am basically doing what I initially wanted. Proving not only can I work to set goals but I can also set my own and get them covered through various ways mainly down to self-motivation, obviously confidence has helped me to pursue such things. I think I need to take time for the future to ensure that I manage everything as best as I possibly can especially if I intend to go out into the industry as a gun-for-hire, working to a deadline is ok it’s just remembering how much I have on, and not taking too long to do things. Once I have come up with a process that suits me with regards to my workload whilst maintaining a level of professionalism with clients I will be set, I will probably look into some self-help books and management styles over the summer take tid-bits from them and apply my own panache.

Leave a Reply

