Posted on

Conextual Studies #2 the work of art in the age of mechanical reproduction.

The work of art in the image of mechanical reproduction is an academic paper written by Walter Benjamin in 1935 you can follow the link here to the PDF http://design.wishiewashie.com/HT5/WalterBenjaminTheWorkofArt.pdf . At first we were tasked with reading this piece over the week then meeting up the next to talk about it, but few people had taken the time to read it. I managed to read a bit or more peruse so as to get the basic gist of the paper I found it to be entirely verbose (no pun intended) and slightly dated but as I said I didn’t give it that much time. The following week we were given a passage of the paper to work with manually in the form of a collage, we were later informed the reasoning behind this was so that we actually digested the text and passage through manually re-constituting it. The whole process seemed to work as I took in more of the passage than I had when skimming it before on my own whilst battling sleep and the induced keyboard bashing boredom that was this lengthy dated work, upon this I did actually relate to what he was saying about the difference between the painter and cameraman (who apparently “penetrates” quite a lot in day-today film-making) but still found it to be dated. The fact that special effects like CGI and green-screening exist are perhaps a sign of how times have changed in the sense that he was implying that you simply point and shoot , therefore whatever is in shot however you shoot (penetrate) it is put on a pedestal instantly for the masses to judge. This is still true when you think of fields such as documentary film-making so not completely off at the same time. Like most old academia there is always going to be a degree of truth still in it. I am only relating to this passage not the entirety of the paper as I have not read everything I would be dumberering myself with closed mindedness probably put it on the back of the back-burner to read when I’m done digesting everything else I said I would and am subsequently too old and senile to move or care.

Leave a Reply

